The Hack o blog

Reinventing the weel

How to get all the local passwords on a windows PC

Screenshot of Ophcrack version 3.2.0

Image via Wikipedia

So many of my friends have been asking lately “I forgot my password on my PC how do I find it” Or “Dude how do I get the password to my boyfriends / girlfriends PC” or my favorite “how did you get admin access on the University system”, well the fact of the matter is that there are many methods of breaking into a computer system.

Like most hacking some are really freaking stupidly simple and others would take me an age to explain. As I have been really busy on some other things this week I’m going to demonstrate the simple method, I mean the really simple method to all you beginner hackers out there.

I will focus on windows for now, I have Linux and Mac tutorials but they can get a little more complicated, also you need access to the pc not just remote access for this method to work.

Ophcrack is a free Windows password cracker based on rainbow tables. It is a very efficient implementation of rainbow tables done by the inventors of the method. It comes with a Graphical User Interface and runs on multiple platforms.

Step one: Go and get ophcrack:

http://ophcrack.sourceforge.net/download.php?type=livecd

Step two: Burn the ISO (The disk image you just downloaded) to a DVD. I use imgburn on windows.

Step three: Ophcrack runs from boot so press the boot order list during post usually F8 or F10, and select the DVD drive to boot from.

Step four: waste some time for a while and let the magic happen, it usually takes between 5 – 15 minutes to find and crack all the local passwords.

And there you go.

Leave a Reply

